Champions Series organisers miss a trick with these rather lame titles

This press release announces awards for leading jockey and trainer in the British Champions Series.  Surely Champion of the Champions would have been a bit more  eye-catching than ‘Jockey of the Series’ and ‘Trainer of the Series’?


The QIPCO British Champions Series will be crowning a “Jockey of the Series” and “Trainer of the Series” when it concludes at QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on 15 October 2011.

Both awards will be based on the number of victories achieved during the 35 race series – 30 races prior to QIPCO British Champions Day, beginning with the QIPCO 2000 Guineas this Saturday (30 April), and five on the big day itself.  If there is a tie for the number of winners, second places will be taken into account; if there is still a tie, third places will also be taken into account and fourth places, etc. if necessary.

These new jockey and trainer competitions will provide exciting season-long championships that fans can follow race-to-race. Leader boards for both championships will be updated after each race and published on the official Series website –

The winning jockey and trainer will be presented with their specially-commissioned trophies on the inaugural QIPCO British Champions Day, the richest fixture in British racing history.  Both winners will be asked to nominate a charity, with each charity receiving a cheque from the British Champions Series for £25,000.

Chris McFadden, Chairman of British Champions Series Limited, said: “These awards will go to the jockey and trainer who have had the most success at the elite level of British flat racing, across the world class races that make up the QIPCO British Champions Series. I am certain that they will become highly coveted accolades.

“They are very different to the existing jockeys’ and trainers’ championships which span the entire Flat racing season, encompassing every single race, and it will be fascinating to see if the same jockey and trainer that dominate the flat season as a whole can also do so at the elite QIPCO British Champions Series level.”

The QIPCO British Champions Series website will also feature horse ranking tables in each of the five categories – Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies & Mares.  These will be according to the horses’ official international ratings, based on their best racecourse performances and compiled by the world’s racing authorities.  While these ratings will not be specific to the QIPCO British Champions Series, they will indicate the best horses that are competing in the Series races.

McFadden added: “We have long thought that the official industry-endorsed ratings could perhaps be better presented and their relevance explained. By producing tables by category and throwing more light on them in the context of the QIPCO British Champions Series, we hope that this important part of the racing and breeding industry’s horse grading system might gain a higher profile away from the expert audience.”


The names of three of the five QIPCO British Champions Day races have been changed to reflect plans to build Britain’s richest-ever raceday into the country’s end-of-season Flat racing championship and a major event in the international racing calendar.

The £250,000 QIPCO British Champions Sprint Stakes (which takes over from the Diadem Stakes, previously run at Ascot in late September), the £200,000 QIPCO British Champions Long Distance Cup (which takes over from the Jockey Club Cup, previously run at Newmarket) and the £250,000 QIPCO British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes (which takes over from the Pride Stakes, also previously run at Newmarket) are the new titles.

They join the £1.3m QIPCO Champion Stakes (British Champions Middle Distance), the £1m Queen Elizabeth II Stakes sponsored by QIPCO (British Champions Mile) and a valuable handicap (details of which have yet to be finalised) on the brand new Ascot card.

Chris McFadden, Chairman of British Champions Series Limited, said:

“If we are to position QIPCO British Champions Day with maximum impact as the new climax to the British flat racing season and a major event in international flat racing, we felt it was important for the race titles to reflect this.

“These three races are in any case very different to the ones whose place they have taken, so we felt that re-naming them was appropriate from this point of view as well.  Quite apart from the fact that they are either being run at a different time of year or at a different racecourse, none now has a penalty structure in its conditions and all have much higher prize money, combining to make them Group 1 contests in all but name.

“All five titles now emphasise that these are the final races in each of the five QIPCO British Champions Series categories which will contribute to the key purpose of the Series – to throw the spotlight on the best races in the British Flat racing calendar and to highlight the significance of QIPCO British Champions Day as the new end-of-season finale which this country has previously lacked.”

About the QIPCO British Champions Series:

The QIPCO British Champions Series is a major new premier series of British horseracing, launching on 30 April 2011 with the QIPCO 2000 Guineas at Newmarket’s historic Rowley Mile. It will climax on 15 October 2011 with the richest fixture in British racing history, QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot Racecourse.

The QIPCO British Champions Series features 35 premier Flat races staged at ten of the UK’s leading racecourses: Ascot, Doncaster, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Newbury, Newmarket’s July Course, Newmarket’s Rowley Mile, Sandown Park and York.

It encompasses British racing’s key festivals, including the Guineas Festival at Newmarket, the Epsom Derby Festival, Royal Ascot, the Newmarket July Festival, Glorious Goodwood, the Ebor Festival at York and the Doncaster St Leger Meeting.

The QIPCO British Champions Series comprises five easy-to-follow champion categories, namely Sprint, Mile, Middle Distance, Long Distance and Fillies and Mares. The six highest-rated races will feature in each category, leading to a same-day finale in each.

Long-term, the QIPCO British Champions Series aims to attract a wider audience for the UK’s second most attended sport.

About QIPCO Holding:

QIPCO Holding is one of the leading private investment companies in Qatar. Established in 1999, QIPCO Holding has a diverse range of interests, including real estate, construction, oil and gas, finance and health services. Its portfolio of interests includes Qatar Bloodstock, which owns the stallion Makfi, the winner of the 2010 2000 Guineas.

Qatar Investment & Projects Development Holding Company (QIPCO Holding) is owned by six brothers who are members of the Royal Family of Qatar. The Chief Executive is Sheikh Hamad bin Abdullah Al Thani, who together with his brothers are nephews of the Emir of the State of Qatar.

Over time, the group has diversified itself to form individual subsidiaries, each operating independently and specialising in their fields of expertise. For more information visit:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.